Exposé Online banner

Toiling Midgets — Sea of Tranquility
(Green Monkey , 2019, LP / DL)

by Jon Davis, Published 2020-02-17

Sea of Tranquility Cover art

After seeing the name Toiling Midgets around for decades, Sea of Tranquility is my first time actually listening to them. This music could be described as (mostly) instrumental post-rock, though not of the variety that revels in lengthy tracks that build up very gradually to crashing finales. Their tunes are concise, in the two to five minute range, almost like a post-punk variation on the idea of surf rock — and by that I mean they take the overall sounds of their contemporary rock music and produce instrumental variations on it, much the same way that classic surf rock took the sounds of 60s rock and used instruments instead of vocals to carry the leads. If you imagine the alternative rock of the 80s and 90s, you’ll find a lot of those sounds here: distorted guitars drenched in reverb, throbbing bass lines, pounding drums heavy on the toms, washes of feedback. Each of the ten tracks on Sea of Tranquility is a distinctive entity, pulling the band’s sound in a slightly different direction, with “The Bugs” dispensing with the drums for free-floating atmospheres, “La Di Da” bringing in some vocals with an almost-bouncy beat, “Grazing Stars” featuring acoustic guitars and what might be backwards piano, and “The Long Summer,” which is just plain weird, with numerous vocalists singing and speaking in various languages over a backing that keeps changing, and sound effects of dogs barking and seagulls keening. In all, three of the tracks feature singing in a prominent role, and those are my least favorite tunes, though they are still enjoyable and contribute to the variety. While the individual tracks are relatively short, they are sequenced very nicely, providing the feeling of an epic journey through strange territory.

Filed under: New releases, 2019 releases

Related artist(s): Toiling Midgets

More info

Latest news

New Aristocrats Live Album on the Way – No foolin'! These supreme musicians toured Europe early in 2020, just before touring ceased to be a thing musicians could do, and there were some hot performances captured. On May 7, some of these will be releases as Freeze! Live in Europe 2020. » Read more

Return of Jerry Lucky's Progressive Rock Files – After much consideration and surprisingly, positive feedback, Jerry Lucky is announcing the launch of the progressive Rock Files podcast, featuring the latest progressive rock music from around the world. » Read more

Jewlia Eisenberg RIP – The sad news has come out that Jewlia Eisenberg has died. As a founding member of Charming Hostess, Eisenberg changed the face of music, bringing together Balkan klezmer, American folk, and experimental rock in a distinctive blend that garnered much praise. » Read more

RIP Roger Trigaux – The sad news has come to our attention that Roger Trigaux, the guiding force of Present and former member of Univers Zero, passed away on the evening of March 10, 2021 after a long ilness. » Read more

SoundQuest Fest 2021 – SoundQuest Fest, first experienced as a live festival in Tucson Arizona in 2010 was created by ambient music pioneer Steve Roach. This 2021 event will unite a worldwide gathering of artists and audience members together for a 3-day online event unique in the realm of ambient music. From March 26-28th a continuous flow of streamed performances, audio-video wonder worlds and deep immersion zones will burn bright on Roach’s YouTube channel. » Read more

Previously in Exposé...

Black Stage - Black Stage – This is a project featuring Keiji Haino (electric guitar, flute, harp, voice), Natsuki Kido (acoustic guitar), and Yuji Katsui (violin) that – despite its release date – was recorded live...  (1999) » Read more

Listen & discover

Print issues