Exposé Online banner

Exposé Online

Not just outside the box, but denying the existence of boxes.
Covering music from the fringes since 1993.


Thierry Zaboitzeff — Réminiscences
(Bandcamp no#, 2023, DL)

by Peter Thelen, Published 2023-03-31

Réminiscences Cover art

The instrumental piece at hand is Thierry Zaboitzeff’s first new work published since last year’s massive three disc career retrospective 50 Ans de Musique. One might be tempted to dismiss Réminiscences because, after all, it’s just a five minute single with no B side, and a download at that, but it certainly makes for an enjoyable listen, full of introspection and emotion, borne of a quiet place, possibly on the river bank as the last light of day begins to fade away, and the mind drifts back to distant memories from long ago. The gentle approach brings forth a natural examination of previous experiences that one might find in those quietest of self-conscious moments. The piece begins with a soft twelve-string acoustic guitar figure with perhaps some understated prepared piano and bass guitar accompaniment. A half minute in the mournful cello joins the parade of thoughts, and eventually other strings (violin, viola) and trumpet and alto sax as the piece develops stronger feelings and kaleidiscopic moods. Never resorting to anything edgy or harsh, there are no drums or strict cadence, the gentle nature of the piece could be likened to perhaps something from the early works of Mike Oldfield or even the late Pekka Pohjola at his most introspective, then at a little over five minutes it suddenly ends without a lot of warning. Apparently TZ plays all of the instruments, with no other musicians credited.

Réminiscences sounds like it could be the opening movement for a much longer suite of several parts, but then again that might just be my wishful thinking. Still, there is an abundance of immersive warmth and emotion to be found herein.

Filed under: New releases, 2023 releases

Related artist(s): Thierry Zaboitzeff

More info


What's new

These are the most recent changes made to artists, releases, and articles.