Exposé Online banner

Exposé Online

Not just outside the box, but denying the existence of boxes.
Covering music from the fringes since 1993.

Artist details

The Mars Volta

The Mars Volta
United States
Bio / info

The Mars Volta was an American progressive rock band from El Paso, Texas, formed in 2001. The band's final lineup consisted of Omar Rodríguez-López (guitar, producer, direction), Cedric Bixler-Zavala (vocals, lyrics), Juan Alderete (bass), Marcel Rodriguez-Lopez (keyboards, percussion) and Deantoni Parks (drums). The band formed following the break-up of Rodriguez-Lopez and Bixler-Zavala's previous band, At the Drive-In. They were known for their energetic live shows and their concept albums. In 2009, the band won a Grammy Award in the "Best Hard Rock Performance" category for the song "Wax Simulacra." In 2008, they were named "Best Prog-Rock Band" by Rolling Stone magazine. In September 2012, it was announced that The Mars Volta had entered a hiatus, with Rodríguez-López and Parks forming a new project, Bosnian Rainbows. Four months later, the band announced their breakup.

Related articles (2)
Releases on file (7)
The Mars Volta — Noctourniquet The Mars Volta — Noctourniquet
(Warner Bros 530380, 2012, CD / LP / DL)
The Mars Volta — Octahedron The Mars Volta — Octahedron
(Warner Bros 519384, 2009, CD / 2LP / DL)
The Mars Volta — The Bedlam in Goliath The Mars Volta — The Bedlam in Goliath
(Universal B0010616, 2007, CD)
The Mars Volta — Amputechture The Mars Volta — Amputechture
(Universal B0007214, 2006, CD / LP)
The Mars Volta — Frances the Mute The Mars Volta — Frances the Mute
(Universal B0004129-02, 2005, CD)
The Mars Volta — Scabdates The Mars Volta — Scabdates
(Universal B0005644-02, 2005, CD / 2LP)
The Mars Volta — De-loused in the Comatorium The Mars Volta — De-loused in the Comatorium
(Universal B0000593-02, 2003, CD)

What's new

These are the most recent changes made to artists, releases, and articles.