Exposé Online banner

John Gregorius — Full of Life
(Spotted Peccary SPM-1803, 2020, CD / DL)

by Peter Thelen, Published 2020-05-29

Full of Life Cover art

Tucson based composer and guitarist John Gregorius offers Full of Life, his third Spotted Peccary release following Heaven and Earth (2008) and Still Voice (2016). In the years prior to those releases he was also busy as an engineer and producer for other recording artists at his own home studio (then in Los Angeles) but since 2007 he has concentrated on his own music, which tends to be a highly melodic blend of guitar driven styles fleshed out with bass, drums, synthesizer and studio ambience. Unlike so many other guitarists working in this general realm, Gregorius doesn’t disguise his guitars (both acoustic and electric) with heavy effects and lengthy washes to make them sound like synths, instead having them be themselves — the lead melodic instruments that offer the expressive emotion that drives his music forward. Synths will be synths, providing subtle ambiences and supporting orchestrations, subservient to the organic compositions. Similarly, the bass and drums (both acoustic and electronic, track depending) are suitably understated in a purely supporting role. There are some guest musicians involved on a few of the album’s twelve tracks, most notably the wordless vocals of Kimberly Daniels on “Monsoon Clearing” (along with guest bassist Rick Baptista and drummer Mitch Ross) and violin and cello from Kayla Applegate on “Path of Renewal.” Each of he pieces work an explorative path filled with mystery, emotion, imagination and subtle beauty, offering a soft and subtle — yet extremely clear and distinct presentation. It’s hard not to listen to this without playing it over and over, the rich melodies and embracing grooves along this warm instrumental journey seem to find a clear and relaxing space in the listener’s memory. Many standouts (in addition to those previously noted) include the gently approaching “Winds of Change,” building and changing over its five-plus minute duration. “Wellspring” rocks along gently supported by a jangly guitar figure, easily one of the most memorable pieces here. “Unfolding Beauty” appears as a warm shimmering vista with engaging melody, a powerful bass line, some analog drum samples by Howard Givens, and enough shifts and changes throughout its duration to make it one of the most interesting. The track-to-track journey throughout is both cinematic and epic, a wonderful and immersive collection of ideas.

Filed under: New releases, 2020 releases

Related artist(s): John Gregorius

More info

Latest news

Audion Is Back in Business – Our esteemed colleague Alan Freeman has restarted Audion Magazine after a seven year hiatus. The new incarnation is available online on their Bandcamp site. Audion's history goes back to 1984, and included 58 issues up to 2013. Issue #59 is available now, and #60 is in the works. » Read more

Romantic Warriors IV – Krautrock (Part 2) Is in the Works – Zeitgeist Media, the people who have brought us the great series of documentary films chronicling the history of progressive rock, are working on the second installment of their examination of German music. Krautrock 2 will focus on artists from Münich such as Guru Guru, Amon Düül II, Xhol Caravan, Kraan, Witthüser & Westrupp, and Popol Vuh. » Read more

Simeon Coxe RIP – Simeon Coxe, best known for his experimental electronics in the band Silver Apples, has died at the age of 82. The band's 1968 debut album set the stage for both German electronic music and experimental punk music a decade later. Coxe died on September 8 from pulmonary fibrosis. » Read more

Gary Peacock RIP – Legendary bassist Gary Peacock, veteran of many recordings and performances with Paul Bley, George Russell, Roland Kirk, Bill Evans, Tony Williams, and many more. » Read more

Tim Smith RIP – Tim Smith, leader of the eccentric band Cardiacs, has died at the age of 59 after many years of health problems. Cardiacs was known for intense and complicated music that combined punk energy with the rhythmic and harmonic sophistication of progressive rock. » Read more

Previously in Exposé...

Hiromi's Sonicbloom - Time Control – Japanese jazz pianist Hiromi Uehara's previous releases have all borne the name "Hiromi" and basically consisted of her standing trio with bassist Tony Grey and drummer Martin Valihora. Guitarist...  (2008) » Read more

Listen & discover

Print issues