Exposé Online banner

Sonisk Blodbad — Electric Mirror
(Apollon Records Arp027, 2019, CD / LP / DL)

by Henry Schneider, Published 2020-06-03

Electric Mirror Cover art

Norwegian band Sonisk Blodbad (Sonic Bloodbath) released their third album of dreamy soundscapes, Electric Mirror, in December 2019. Hailing from Bergen, Sonisk Blodbad is Ole Christensen, Haavard Tveito, Kristian Stangebye, Tord Litleskare, Steven Cerio, Laurie Amat, Tarjei Sefland, Jos Smolders, and Kjetil Manheim, plus guest musicians Ulf Knudsen from Betong Hysteria, Sam Fossbakk from Elektrisk Regn and Shirley Kent from The Ghost. They are truly an international band and on their previous releases they collaborated with Don Preston of the Mothers of Invention, Fernando Saunders of Lou Reed and Marianne Faithful, Clive Jones of Black Widow and Agony Bag, and Laurie Amat who has sung with The Residents. Plus Conrad Schnitzler took them under his wing before his death in 2011 and provided two compositions for their debut album. On Electric Mirror the band presents eight mostly instrumental tracks of spooky ambiance, sequencers, and waves of electronics. Guitars, electronic fiddle, and processed vocals occasionally part the sonic curtains that hint at Dead Can Dance, Pink Floyd, and possibly Coil. The album’s highpoint is the 20 minute album closer “The Shore of Oblivion” with slow floating ambiance, David Gilmour-inspired guitar work, and a violin solo similar to Daniel Kobialka that creates an eerie comparison to “Echoes.” Recommended for fans of dark electronic soundscapes.

Filed under: New releases, 2019 releases

Related artist(s): Sonisk Blodbad

Latest news

SoundQuest Fest 2021 – SoundQuest Fest, first experienced as a live festival in Tucson Arizona in 2010 was created by ambient music pioneer Steve Roach. This 2021 event will unite a worldwide gathering of artists and audience members together for a 3-day online event unique in the realm of ambient music. From March 26-28th a continuous flow of streamed performances, audio-video wonder worlds and deep immersion zones will burn bright on Roach’s YouTube channel. » Read more

Chick Corea RIP – The sad news has reached us that Chick Corea has Returned to Forever, so to speak. The innovative keyboardist and composer died on February 9 at the age of 79. With a career that spanned from the 60s until shortly before his death, Corea touched many listeners with the incredible variety of music he produced in his lifetime. » Read more

Asia Minor Third Album on the Way – On January 29, AMS records will be releasing the long-awaited third album by classic Turkish-French band Asia Minor. Released last year in Japan, this will be the widespread debut of Points of Libration. The album features original members Setrak Bakirel (vocals, guitar) and Eril Tekeli (flute, guitar). » Read more

Harold Budd RIP – Harold Budd, one of pre-eminent American composers of avant-garde and minimalism, has died of complications from the coronavirus. Budd came to prominence in the 70s, championed by Brian Eno on his Obscure Records label, with music that blended academic minimalism with electric jazz and electronic music. Much of Budd's best known work was done in collaboration with other artists, including Eno, Daniel Lanois, Robin Guthrie, Andy Partridge, John Foxx, Jah Wobble, and many others. » Read more

25 Views of Worthing Finally Gets Released – A while ago, we wrote about the discovery of a "long lost" Canterbury-style gem by a band called 25 Views of Worthing. And now we're pleased to find out that Wind Waker Records has released their music on an LP. » Read more

Previously in Exposé...

Lonely China Day - Sorrow – In the midst of all the noise found on the Beijing music scene, where feedback reigns and screaming is preferred to singing, there is one band that stands out from the crowd. Lonely China Day (their...  (2008) » Read more

Listen & discover

Print issues