Exposé Online banner

Exposé Online

Not just outside the box, but denying the existence of boxes.
Covering music from the fringes since 1993.

Artist details


Bio / info
Contraction was a Canadian progressive rock band formed in 1971 by Christiane Robichaud (vocals), Yves Laferrière (bass), Michel Robidoux (guitar), Christian St Roch (drums), Rawn Bankley (guitar), and Robert Lachapelle (keyboards), all of whom had been part of a previous group called Ville Emard Blues Band. A number of other musicians participated in the band, both live and in the studio, including Robert Stanley (guitar), Denis Farmer (drums), Marcel Huot (drums), Richard Perotte (drums), Joey Armando (percussion), Jimmy Tanaka (percussion), and Carlyle Miller (woodwinds). After their first album was a success in the French language market, it was re-recorded in English. They released a second album in 1974, but broke up in 1978. A live album from 1974 surfaced in 1999.
Not on file
Related articles (1)
Releases on file (3)
Contraction — La Bourse ou la Vie Contraction — La Bourse ou la Vie
(ProgQuébec MPM04, 1974/2005, CD)
Contraction — Live 1974 Contraction — Live 1974
(ProgQuébec MPM33, 1974/2009, CD)
Contraction — Contraction Contraction — Contraction
(ProgQuébec MPM03, 1972/2005, CD)

What's new

These are the most recent changes made to artists, releases, and articles.