Exposé Online banner

Sky Cries Mary — Secrets of a Red Planet
(Trail Records TR022, 2020, CD / DL)

by Jon Davis, Published 2020-06-23

Secrets of a Red Planet Cover art

Seattle’s veterans of trippy rock are back with their second studio album since reforming in 2016 after a lengthy hiatus. Roderick Wolgamott (lead vocals) and Ben Ireland (drums, synths) are the only remaining members from the original group; Jack Endino (guitar, occasional drums), Kevin Whitworth (guitar), and Curt Eckman (bass, synth) have been on the Seattle scene for a long time in bands including Skin Yard, Crypt Kicker Five, Love Battery, Crisis Party, and Walkabouts; Debra Reese (synths, vocals) is a newcomer of whom I know nothing. Endino is also credited with recording, mixing, and mastering the album, and while he’s best known for his work with bands like Nirvana and Soundgarden, he’s a big fan of classic space rock, so his participation is no surprise. While there are some fans who found the departure of long-time vocalist Anisa Romero to be a great loss, the band’s overall sound is intact, with spaced-out grooves, trippy synthesizers, and male / female vocal interplay. Sky Cries Mary has their own particular spin on psychedelic space rock, and while there are similarities with other bands in the genre, they maintain their own identity. Space rock lovers should find a lot to like here.

Filed under: New releases, 2020 releases

Related artist(s): Sky Cries Mary

More info

Latest news

Ennio Morricone RIP – Famed composer Ennio Morricone has died at the age of 91. The creator of scores for more than 500 movies, some of his works have become the most recognizable sounds in the history of cinema. His soundtracks for Sergio Leone's Westerns made from 1964 to 1971, are iconic landmarks in film music, but he also composed for dramas, comedies, and other genres. He won the Academy Award for Best Original Score in 2016 for The Hateful Eight. » Read more

Keith Tippett RIP – One of the giants of British jazz has left us. Keith Graham Tippetts, known professionally as Keith Tippett, died today at the age of 72. His work from the late 60s into the 70s and beyond includes some of the greatest jazz produced in the UK, and stands as an impressive oevre to this day. » Read more

Phil May of The Pretty Things RIP – We were saddened to learn that Phil May, lead singer and founding member of The Pretty Things, has died at the age of 75. The band's 1968 album S.F. Sorrow is one of the enduring classics of the psychedelic era, and the group existed in various forms until finally retiring in 2018. » Read more

Jorge Santana RIP – Jorge Santana, noted guitarist, leader of the band Malo and brother to Carlos Santana, died on May 14 at the age of 68. Jorge and Carlos worked together on a number of occasions, though Jorge's career was centered around Malo, solo work, and with Fania All-Stars. » Read more

Florian Schneider RIP – Florian Schneider, one of the founders of the pioneering electronic group Kraftwerk, has died at the age of 73. Co-founder Ralf Hütter announced that his bandmate had passed away from cancer after a brief illness. » Read more

Previously in Exposé...

Marty Walker - Dancing on Water – Marty Walker has been a contributing member to the Cold Blue catalog for several years. Appearing as the label clarinetist he has added the occasional melodic interval here and there to recordings by...  (2005) » Read more

Listen & discover

Print issues