Exposé Online banner

Kanaan — Odense Sessions
(El Paraiso EPR057, 2020, LP / DL)

by Peter Thelen, Published 2020-03-30

Odense Sessions Cover art

On Kanaan’s second offering, the Oslo based trio teams up with Causa Sui’s Jonas Munk for a set of four improvisation-based numbers, two per album side. Odense studio, owned by Munk, is where most of El Paraiso’s magic goes down. The band’s first release, Windborne from 2018, showed the band to be far more promising than most, with a debut that sounded like a group of seasoned veterans, combining elements of psychedelic rock, jazz, fusion, and pure unbridled energy, yet always with delicacy and finesse, never even the least bit sloppy or sludgy. The same rudimentary style applies to Odense Sessions, with the change being that their sound here is more open and free, with some additional space injected, and additional guitar shimmer from Munk (he plays guitar on every cut and occasional synths), occasionally dropping into some dreamy passages with the whole band in tow. Drummer Ingvald André Vassbø and bassist Eskild Myrvoll maintain a fluid, driving rhythm that follows the general energy level of whatever the passage at hand demands, while guitarists Ask Vatn Strøm and Munk maintain an almost telepathic connection as they slide effortlessly from one passage to the next, reminiscent a bit of the classic Grateful Dead’s Garcia and Weir on their wide open adventures. Opener “Seemingly Changeless Stars” runs the full gamut over its twelve minutes, starting almost softly and slowly building in intensity as the piece proceeds, unearthing sonic treasures as it goes forward until it reaches a manic strength toward the end. At only eight minutes “Of Raging Billows Breaking on the Ground” kicks right into psychedelic rock, but eases up at the two minute mark while the band goes forward more exploratively, but ultimately finds their way back to the master groove. The appropriately titled “Vacant Spaces” makes excellent use of space as it slowly winds its way up to the fourteen minute “Urgent Excursions to the Tundrasphere,” that gently steps into full-blown psychedelic rock with all guns blazing (including some synths), all four players are pushing their boundaries as the piece marches forward, until its sparser gentle closing section.

Filed under: New releases, 2020 releases

Related artist(s): Kanaan

More info

Latest news

Tim Smith RIP – Tim Smith, leader of the eccentric band Cardiacs, has died at the ago of 59 after many years of health problems. Cardiacs was known for intense and complicated music that combined punk energy with the rhythmic and harmonic sophistication of progressive rock. » Read more

Judy Dyble RIP – Singer-songwriter Judy Dyble, who was a founding member of Fairport Convention and one of the distinctive voices of the 60s folk revival in Britain, has died at the age of 71. Her passing came at the end of a long illness, though which she continued to work. » Read more

Ennio Morricone RIP – Famed composer Ennio Morricone has died at the age of 91. The creator of scores for more than 500 movies, some of his works have become the most recognizable sounds in the history of cinema. His soundtracks for Sergio Leone's Westerns made from 1964 to 1971, are iconic landmarks in film music, but he also composed for dramas, comedies, and other genres. He won the Academy Award for Best Original Score in 2016 for The Hateful Eight. » Read more

Keith Tippett RIP – One of the giants of British jazz has left us. Keith Graham Tippetts, known professionally as Keith Tippett, died today at the age of 72. His work from the late 60s into the 70s and beyond includes some of the greatest jazz produced in the UK, and stands as an impressive oevre to this day. » Read more

Phil May of The Pretty Things RIP – We were saddened to learn that Phil May, lead singer and founding member of The Pretty Things, has died at the age of 75. The band's 1968 album S.F. Sorrow is one of the enduring classics of the psychedelic era, and the group existed in various forms until finally retiring in 2018. » Read more

Previously in Exposé...

Stickman - Fretless – On Neil Haverstick's ninth CD, he offers a compilation of all the fretless pieces from his previous CDs. Four of seven tracks exceed the ten-minute mark and feel improvised, sometimes enhanced with...  (2011) » Read more

Listen & discover

Print issues